Awards and Honors

Distinguished Faculty Awards

These honors are granted to faculty members whose professional contributions to Emory, its affiliated institutions, communities, and professional organizations reflect the spirit of Emory.

Awardees are announced at the end of the academic year.


Virgil Brown, Charles Howard Candler Professor of Medicine Emeritus

Sidney Perkowitz, Charles Howard Candler Professor of Condensed Matter Physics Emeritus


David Eltis, Professor of History Emeritus

Joseph E. Hardison, Professor of Medicine Emeritus

Holly York, Senior Lecturer of French Emerita


Ron Gould, Goodrich C. White Professor of Mathematics

Corrine Katz, Professor of Anthropology Emerita

Service Awards

Service Awards are granted to any Emeritus College member who has significant, documented contributions of service to Emory and its affiliated institutions as well as to local, state, national, or international communities or organizations that reflect the spirit of Emory.

In 2020, this award went to Helen O’Shea, Professor of Nursing Emerita.